Robert Rama

JomSocial as Frontpage

9 posts in this topic

First off, just getting my hands dirty with this template and so far I am very impressed. I'm very new to Joomla but have already gone through a number of templates (free and paid) and this is significantly more polished - even compared to those that cost the same.

I'm aiming to have JomSocial be the frontpage of my site. I've installed and set JomSocial as Home in the Menu Items:

1) Can I get the background-slideshow to be smaller / truncated like it is on all non-home pages before? I was actually happy to see the full slideshow image on the home JomSocial page but I noticed it remained full on every other JomSocial page.

Full Image:

post-205427-0-70181400-1375747644_thumb.

Truncated Image:

post-205427-0-65352300-1375747666_thumb.

2) Although the site is mostly social network, I will have an articles section as well divided into 3-4 categories. I really like the bt_tab menu on the stock home page:

post-205427-0-45310400-1375747704_thumb.

I was hoping to incorporate that one module into the JomSocial homepage either right below the JomSocial toolbar if logged in ...

post-205427-0-65352300-1375747666_thumb.

Or below the Join Us block if not logged in (or in both cases, just above the Recent Activities ...

post-205427-0-00915900-1375747689_thumb.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated and thank you for bearing with my limited knowledge of Joomla.

Hi,

1 Background slideshow can be small, download file: default-content-left.zip, extract and replace it in: ....\templates\bt_travel\tpls (you should backup old file, then copy new file)

use:

you may use position: "background-slideshow-home" for background slideshow module (as in home page)

position: "background-slideshow" for smaller background slideshow module (as non-home page)

but do not put 2 module on same page, such as:

if module: "background-slideshow" is enable in home page, "background-slideshow-home" must be disable in home page